Deaf Institute

Deaf Institute, Manchester

Frequented by university hipsters and unsigned music lovers alike, The Deaf Institute is one of Manchester’s finest indie venues.

Filters

Genre
Gigs
Rock, Indie & Alternative
Hard Rock & Metal
Chart & Pop Music
Country & Folk
Clubs
Electronic/EDM
Disco
Hip-Hop
Jazz
Drum and Bass
Soul
Reggae
World Music
Musicals
Plays
Garage
Theatre
Date
Choose dates
16 January 2019
January 2019
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
Su
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Price Range
£0
£0
£250
£250

Wednesday, 16th January 2019
Thursday, 17th January 2019
Friday, 18th January 2019
Saturday, 19th January 2019
Sunday, 20th January 2019
Tuesday, 22nd January 2019
Wednesday, 23rd January 2019
Thursday, 24th January 2019
Friday, 25th January 2019
Saturday, 26th January 2019
Tuesday, 29th January 2019
Wednesday, 30th January 2019
Thursday, 31st January 2019
Friday, 1st February 2019
Wednesday, 6th February 2019
Thursday, 7th February 2019
Friday, 8th February 2019
Saturday, 9th February 2019
Sunday, 10th February 2019
Tuesday, 12th February 2019
Wednesday, 13th February 2019
Thursday, 14th February 2019
Friday, 15th February 2019
Monday, 18th February 2019
Wednesday, 20th February 2019
Thursday, 21st February 2019
Friday, 22nd February 2019
Sunday, 24th February 2019
Monday, 25th February 2019
Tuesday, 26th February 2019
Thursday, 28th February 2019
Friday, 1st March 2019
Saturday, 2nd March 2019
Wednesday, 6th March 2019
Tuesday, 12th March 2019
Wednesday, 13th March 2019
Thursday, 14th March 2019
  • 1

About Deaf Institute

Frequented by university hipsters and unsigned music lovers alike, The Deaf Institute is one of Manchester’s finest indie venues. Named after its former life as an institute for deaf and dumb adults, ‘Deaf’ only opened in 2008 but is the place to catch up-and-coming acts.

The Deaf Institute sits in a Grade II-listed Victorian building just off Oxford Road on Manchester’s student corridor. The building was originally built in 1878 and lay derelict for years until it was taken over by the owners of Northern Quarter bar Trof. It now hosts live music, comedy and club nights across its three floors, with its highlight being its domed music hall on the top floor complete with tiered seating and a balcony.

Boasting a cosy capacity of 260 people, Deaf’s music hall plays a vital part of Manchester’s musical ecosystem, specializing in showcasing acts on the up before they really make it big. Star names that have graced the Deaf Institute’s stage in the past include The XX, Grimes, St Vincent, The 1975 and Todd Terje. Thanks to its boho vibe and impressive pulling power, Deaf is the perfect place to see a band and say ‘I saw them before they were cool’.

  • Deaf Institute, 135 Grosvenor St, Manchester, M1 7HE
  • 0161 276 9350
  • Capacity 260

loading...